Secretary General appoints group as part of NATO reflection process

  • 31 Mar. 2020 -
  • |
  • Last updated: 09 Jun. 2020 11:53

Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg announced the appointment of a group of experts on Tuesday (31 March 2020) to support his work in a reflection process to further strengthen NATO’s political dimension. The group of five men and five women will be co-chaired by Thomas de Maizière and Wess Mitchell, and will report to the Secretary General.

Jens Stoltenberg, NATO Secretary General, working from home, during the Covid19 crisis.

At their meeting in London last year, NATO leaders agreed to a forward-looking reflection process under the auspices of the Secretary General.  It will offer recommendations to reinforce Alliance unity, increase political consultation and coordination between Allies, and strengthen NATO’s political role.  The composition of the group advising the Secretary General on the reflection process takes into account gender balance, relevant experience, and the geographic distribution of Allies. The group will engage with Allied capitals and the North Atlantic Council, NATO’s decision making body, and other relevant stakeholders.

The following people have been appointed to the group: Greta Bossenmaier (Canada), Anja Dalgaard-Nielsen (Denmark), Hubert Védrine (France), Thomas de Maizière (Germany), Marta Dassù (Italy), Herna Verhagen (The Netherlands), Anna Fotyga (Poland), Tacan Ildem (Turkey), John Bew (United Kingdom) and Wess Mitchell (United States).