NATO Allies sign Accession Protocol for the future Republic of North Macedonia

  • 06 Feb. 2019 -
  • |
  • Last updated: 06 Feb. 2019 14:02

At NATO Headquarters in Brussels on Wednesday (6 February 2019) the Permanent Representatives to NATO of the 29 members of the Alliance signed the Accession Protocol for the future Republic of North Macedonia. The signing ceremony took place in the presence of Foreign Minister Nikola Dimitrov.

Following the signing of the Accession Protocol, Skopje can now take part in NATO activities as an invitee.  The accession process now moves to the capitals of the 29 Allies where the Protocol will be ratified according to national procedures.  The country will become a member of NATO as soon as all Allies have ratified the Accession Protocol.

Speaking following the signing ceremony NATO Secretary Jens Stoltenberg said, “NATO keeps almost one billion citizens across Europe and North America secure and with  you joining NATO there will be thirty countries committed to protect each other. Your accession will bring more stability to the Western Balkans. This is good for the region and for Euro-Atlantic security.”

Mr. Stoltenberg congratulated both Skopje and Athens for showing commitment and courage in reaching an agreement on the name issue.

Skopje already makes important contributions to NATO’s training mission in Afghanistan and the Alliance’s KFOR peace keeping mission in Kosovo.