Three Nobel Prize winners recipients of NATO grants

  • 04 Oct. 2000 -
  • |
  • Last updated: 03 Nov. 2008 17:19

NATO is pleased to congratulate three of this year's Nobel prize winners who have received grants under the NATO Science Programme.

Zhores I. Alferov, Director of the Ioffe Institute, St. Petersburg, Russia, received the Nobel Prize for Physics jointly with Herbert Kroemer and Jack Kilby.

Prof. Alferov is currently co-director of a NATO Science for Peace-sponsored research project on Light Emitting Devices, which is being carried out in collaboration with colleagues in Germany, the UK and Belarus. He was also co-director of a 1994 NATO Workshop on Technology Transfer between NATO and Partner Countries.

Alan G. MacDiarmid, of the University of Pennsylvania, USA, received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry with Alan J. Heeger and Hideki Shirakawa, while Paul Greengard, of the Rockefeller University, USA, received the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine with Arvid Carlsson and Eric Kandel.

In the 1980s and early 1990s Professors MacDiarmid and Greengard received funding under the Science Programme for their research work, in collaboration with colleagues in Belgium and Italy.