NATO marks 66th anniversary of the Washington Treaty

  • 04 Apr. 2015 -
  • |
  • Last updated: 04 Apr. 2015 18:44

On 4 April, 1949, 12 nations signed the Washington Treaty, creating NATO. Since then, the Alliance has grown to 28 members, but the mission has stayed the same: To safeguard the freedom and security of our members through political and military means. Click here to find out more about the history of NATO.