Last updated:
04-Nov-2002 6:42 PM









Home> Enlargement
Enlarging the Alliance
16 September 2002
Press kit
Key information,
quotes and background
Key texts
Washington Treaty, Article 10
NATO Enlargement
Membership Action Plan
NATO: Enlarging and redefining itself, NATO Secretary General,
18 February 2002
Not When but Who, James Goldgeier
The Silence of the Bear, Dmitri Trenin
Following in the Footsteps, Andrzej Karkoszka
Can NATO Remain an Effective Military and Political Alliance..., Ronald Asmus and Charles Grant

New members

At the Prague Summit, NATO will continue its process of enlargement by inviting one or more aspirant countries to join the Alliance.

Ten countries are currently participating in NATO's Membership Action Plan: Albania, Bulgaria, Croatia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (1).

Since the signature of the Washington Treaty in 1949, seven additional countries have joined the original twelve member states in the Alliance: Greece and Turkey in 1952; Germany in 1955; Spain in 1982; and the Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland in 1999.

Open door policy

NATO has an open door policy meaning that any European country in a position to further the principles of the Washington Treaty and contribute to security in the Euro-Atlantic area can become a member of the Alliance.

Countries aspiring for NATO membership are also expected to meet certain political, economic and military goals.

Membership Action Plan

In 1999, NATO launched a Membership Action Plan (MAP) designed to assist those countries which wish to join the Alliance in their preparations by providing advice, assistance and practical support on all aspects of NATO membership.

NATO is following the progress made by each aspirant and providing political and technical advice.

Participation in the MAP does not guarantee future membership. Decisions to invite aspirants are taken within NATO by consensus and on a case-by-case basis.

1. Turkey recognises the Republic of Macedonia with its constitutional name.

NATO Headquarters
Blvd Leopold III
1110 Brussels, Belgium
NATO Homepage