Updated: 26-May-2006 12:17 (GMT+2) NATO Ministerial Meetings


Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council Security Forum
Åre, Sweden - 24-25 May 2005

Media information
Speeches, photos and audio from the event
Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council
NATO Ministers of Foreign Affairs
Permanent Representatives
Secretary General
Senior Partner Government Officials
Biography of Laila Freivalds
Official logo (.JPG/954kb)
NATO Wallpaper for May
Key security issues in focus at 46-nation forum
25 May - The first ever Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council Security Forum was held in Are, Sweden, from 24 to 25 May. It brought together a number of Ministers from NATO and partner countries, as well as senior decision-makers, representatives of think tanks and civil society.



Tuesday 24 May
Local time: GMT+2
  Preparing the conference  

Press conference by Swedish Foreign Minister, Mrs. Laila Freivalds

  Opening statement by the Minister    
  Questions and answers    
  Pictures of the conference site and NATO Secretary General's walkabout  
  NATO Secretary General, Jaap de Hoop Scheffer gives an interview in the TV studio at the conference media centre  
19.15 Reception for the Media in the Media Centre, hosted by Mrs Elsa Danielsson, Chairwoman of the Åre Local Authority Executive Board
Informal Working Dinner for EAPC Foreign Ministers/Heads of Delegation, hosted by the Swedish Foreign Minister and chaired by the NATO Secretary General
  Opening remarks by the Secretary General
  Welcoming remarks by Swedish Foreign Minister

Wednesday 25 May
Local time: GMT+2
Plenary Meeting of the EAPC Security Forum, chaired by the NATO Secretary General
  Chair and keynote speaker : Jaap de Hoop Scheffer, NATO Secretary General
  Speaker: Laila Freivalds, Foreign Minister of Sweden
  Speaker: Kemal Derviş, Director-designate, UNDP
  Questions and answers

Secretary General’s Press Conference

Participants separate into four concurrent panel discussion groups
  Panel 1 “Addressing Europe's unresolved conflicts”
Chair: Jan Petersen, Norwegian Minister of Foreign Affairs  
Adam Daniel Rotfeld, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Poland  
Borys Tarasyuk, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Ukraine  
Sergei Karaganov, Chairman of the Council for Foreign Defence Policy , Russian Federation  
Mrs. Eugenia Kistruga, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs and European Integration of the Republic of Moldova
Antanas Valionis, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Lithuania
Vladimir Socor, The Jamestown Foundation  
Giorgi Baramidze, State Minister for European and Euro-Atlantic Integration, Georgia  
Dan Fried, U.S. Assistant Secretary of State for European & Eurasian Affairs  
Jaroslaw Skonieczka, Director, Euro-Atlantic Integration & Partnership Directorate, Political Affairs and Security Policy Division, NATO  

Panel 2 “NATO and its other Partnerships”

Chair: Ambassador Alessandro Minuto-Rizzo, Deputy Secretary General, NATO
Magda Vášáryová, State Secretary, Slovakia  
Halim Benattallah, Ambassador of the People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria to Belgium
Stephen Larrabee, Rand Corporation, United States  
Thomas Valasek, Director, Centre for Defence Information, Brussels  
Sean C. Carroll, Director of Programmes, Club of Madrid, Spain  
Daniel Speckhard, Head of the Policy Planning Unit, NATO  
  Panel 3 “Central Asia - Future Cooperation in the EAPC“
Chair: Abdullah Gϋl, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Turkey  
Alexei Volkov, Deputy Foreign Minister, Kazakhstan  
Michael Emerson, Centre for European Policy Studies, Brussels, and former EU Ambassador to Russia  
Nigina Sattorova, Vice-Chairman, Information, Education and Cultural Center Vector Intellect, Tajikistan  
Discussants :  
Roza Unaibaeva, Vice-Rector, Eurasian National University Diplomatic Academy, Kazakhstan  
Robert F. Simmons Jr., NATO Secretary General’s Special Representative for the Caucasus and Central Asia  
Mr. Radislaw Sikorski, Executive Director of the New Atlantic Initiative at the American Enterprise Institution  
Jonathan Parish, Senior Planning Officer, NATO  
  Panel 4 “Acting in concert in the Balkans and elsewhere – How can institutional cooperation make the world more secure”?
Chair: Dimitrij Rupel, Foreign Minister of Slovenia and Chairman-in-Office of the OSCE
Pierre Lelouche, Member of the French National Assembly and President of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly  
R. Nicolas Burns, Under Secretary for Political Affairs, Department of State, United States  
Kolinda Grabar-Kitarovic, Foreign Minister of Croatia
Discussants :  
Kastriot Islami, Foreign Minister of Albania  
James Elles, MEP and Chairman of the Transatlantic Policy Network  
Nicholas Whyte, Director, European Programme, International Crisis Group  
Jamie Shea, Deputy Assistant Secretary General for External Relations, Public Diplomacy Division  
Working Luncheon chaired by the Deputy Secretary General, with the participation of all delegates
  Chairman’s closing remarks including summaries by the rapporteurs of the panels
  Joint press conference by R. Nicolas Burns, Undersecretary for Political Affairs, U.S. Department of State and Dan Fried, Assistant Secretary for European Affairs, U.S. Department of State  

Media Information
NATO Press Release (2005)041 - 24 March 2005
Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council Security Forum
Åre, Sweden, 24-25 May 2005
OTAN Communiqué de presse (2005)041 - 24 mars 2005
Forum du Conseil de partenariat euro-atlantique sur la sécurité
Åre, Suède, 24-25 mai 2005