Updated: 18-May-2005 NATO Press Releases


24 March 2005

Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council Security Forum Åre, Sweden
24-25 May 2005

1. Information

The first Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council Security Forum with the participation of Foreign Ministers of NATO and Partner countries will take place in Åre, Sweden, on 24-25 May under the chairmanship of the NATO Secretary General, Mr. Jaap de Hoop Scheffer. The Foreign Minister of Sweden, Her Excellency Mrs Laila Freivalds will host the Forum. The “Holiday Club” in Åre is the venue for the Security Forum. The Media Centre will be located next to the “Holiday Club”.

2. Accreditation and Security Checks

The Media Accreditation Office will be located in the Telecom Office building, on Town Square, within walking distance of the Media Centre.

Opening hours of the Media Accreditation Office:

Monday, 23 May 08:30 – 21:00 hours

Tuesday, 24 May 08:00 – 21:00 hours

Wednesday, 25 May 08:00 – 15:00 hours

Applications for accreditation can only be made electronically on-line, by clicking on the following link: https://my.hq.nato.int/jas
In order to complete your accreditation request, you will need to provide a digital picture. Only a 3,5 x 4,5 cm passport-size photograph in JPEG format will be accepted. Every applicant has to create a user name and password.
Applications for accreditation should submitted to NATO before Thursday, 19 May 2005.
Applications received after that date will not be processed.
Press passes will be available for collection at the Media Accreditation Office from 09:00 hours on Monday, 23 May 2005.

Press passes to be worn visibly will not be mailed to applicants. They can only be collected personally at the Media Accreditation Office on presentation of an I.D. card or passport and a valid press card (or letter of accreditation from a recognized media organisation) which should be presented at any time upon request of security personnel. All media representatives are informed that security personnel will examine and may test equipment and personal effects carried onto the site and are advised to arrive with sufficient time to clear the security checks.

3. Media Centre

The Media Centre is located next to Holiday Club and will be operational on the following hours:

Monday, 23 May 09:00 – 20:00 hours

Tuesday, 24 May 06:00 – 02.00 hours

Wednesday, 25 May 06:00 – 20.00 hours

4. Broadcasting

Television and radio interview rooms and facilities are located at the Media Centre.
Satellite uplink trucks and O.B. vans will be parked along the Media Centre.
Electricity in Sweden is 230V and Europlugs.


The Host Television Broadcaster, SVT will provide coverage of arrivals of delegations, the plenary session, the official group photograph, as well as international news conferences.

For enquiries, please contact:

Ms Cecilia Larsson
Television Co-ordinator,SVT
Telephone: +46 8 784 73 69
Mobile: +46 70 884 73 69
E-mail: cecilia.larsson@svt.se


The Host Radio Broadcaster, SR, will provide the signal and technical assistance.
For enquiries, please contact:

Ms. Inga Holmberg,
Co-ordinator, International Relations
Swedish Radio Ltd
Telephone: +46 8 784 50 23
Mobile: +46 70 245 50 28
Fax: +46 8 662 69 92
E-mail: inga.holmberg@sr.se

Ms. Eva Svahn
Co-ordinator, International Relations
Swedish Radio Ltd
Telephone: +46 8 784 50 25
Mobile: +46 70 584 50 26
Fax: +46 8 662 69 92

E-mail: eva.svahn@sr.se

5. Communications

Laptop computers will need to be equipped with RJ 45 plugs in order to be able to connect to the high-speed communication network.
ISDN lines will be available for radio transmissions. Please check if you need to use an adapter in “Euro ISDN” standard.

6. Programme and pools

The final programme of the meeting will be available upon accreditation.
The programme will begin on Tuesday, 24 May 2005 with a reception at about 19.00.
The Secretary General’s Press Conference will conclude the meeting on Wednesday afternoon.
Pool cards will be distributed early in the afternoon of Tuesday, 24 May.

7. Visas, Accommodation and Transport


Please check the website http://www.sweden.gov.se/eapc , or with the nearest Swedish Embassy or consulate General regarding visa requirements.


Media representatives are encouraged to stay in Åre and are advised to book their hotel rooms as soon as possible.

Information on accommodation and hotel booking is available on-line by clicking on the following link: http://eapc.nymans.se

For further information please call:

Ms Maria Ljung, Telephone: +46 8 429 22 25

Ms Johanna Zachrisson, Telephone: +46 8 429 22 63
Fax: +46 8 429 43 13
E-mail: eapc2005@nymans.se


A bus service on arrival and departure will operate between Östersund Airport (OSD) and Åre from Monday, 23 May to Thursday, 26 May, noon. Details will be provided in the second media advisory.

8. Payment

All major credit cards and bank transfers will be accepted for payments.
Currency exchange is available at banks and currency exchange offices in Åre.

Currency in Sweden: Swedish krona (SEK)

  • 100 SEK = 10,9 Euro

9. Enquiries

Ms Kerstin Olsson
EAPC Security Forum Director of Media Affairs
Telephone: +46 8 405 26 87
Mobile: +46 70 230 52 10
Fax: +46 8 543 563 00
e-mail: media-eapc@foreign.ministry.se

Mr. François Le Blévennec
NATO Media Co-ordinator
NATO Press and Media Section
Tel: +32 (0)2 707 50 38
Fax: +32 (0)2 707 50 57
E-mail: eapc.2005@hq.nato.int

Go to Homepage Go to Index