October 1997

Chapter 1: NATO Logistics

Annex A

Classes of Supply

NATO classes of supply are established in the five-class system of identification as follows:

Class I

Items of subsistence, e.g. food and forage, which are consumed by personnel or animals at an approximately uniform rate, irrespective of local changes in combat or terrain conditions.

Class II

Supplies for which allowances are established by tables of organization and equipment, e.g. clothing, weapons, tools, spare parts, vehicles.

Class III

Petroleum, oil and lubricants (POL) for all purposes, except for operating aircraft or for use in weapons such as flamethrowers, e.g. gasoline, fuel oil, greases, coal and coke.
(Class IIIa - aviation fuel and lubricants)

Class IV

Supplies for which initial issue allowances are not prescribed by approved issue tables. Normally includes fortification and construction materials, as well as additional quantities of items identical to those authorized for initial issue (Class II) such as additional vehicles.

Class V

Ammunition, explosives and chemical agents of all types.

 [ Go to Index ]  [ Go to Homepage ]  [ Go to Homepage ]