[ HOME ]
About SPS Funding opportunities Calendar Publications Grantees Contact us


Page Updated: 20-Sep-2006

News & Events

NATO-Russia Advanced Research Workshop on Social and Psychological Consequences of Chemical, Biological and Radiological Terrorism
A joint workshop took place at NATO Headquarters between the 25 and 27th March 2002, bringing together international experts from Russia, the NATO countries and other relevant nations to discuss the social and psychological implications of the new terrorism. The workshop generated interest, activity, enthusiasm and no shortage of questions that need to be addressed.
Meeting of the NATO-Ukraine Working Group on Scientific and Environmental Cooperation
A meeting of the NATO-Ukraine Working Group on Scientific and Environmental Cooperation took place on 22 May at NATO Headquarters. Co-chaired by Mr. Andriy Hurzhiy, First Deputy State Secretary of the Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine, and Mr. Jean Fournet, NATO Assistant Secretary General for Scientific and Environmental Affairs, the meeting consolidated the friendly relations and the good cooperation already underway in the areas of science and environment between NATO and Ukraine.
Historic first Link on the Virtual Silk Highway
Jacek Gajewski (centre), Richard Perlman (left), and Miha Dimec (right), with Silk equipment in Budapest

On 19 August 2002 the following message was received at NATO from the technical manager, Dr. Hans Frese:

Since Saturday, the teams in Hamburg, Tashkent, and Ankara have been busy closing the link to Tashkent.

The Grand Gathering
On 24 October a "Grand Gathering" took place at NATO Headquarters, when for the first time all the NATO Science Committee's advisory panels met together with the members of the 46 representatives of the NATO Science Committee in Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council (EAPC) format, together with representatives of the Mediterranean Dialogue countries.
Winners of first NATO Science Partnership Prize
The first NATO Science Partnership Prize has just been announced. The winners are Aleksandr P. Kozlov (Russia), Artem Khalatov (Ukraine) and Nick Syred (United Kingdom), for their collaboration on innovative cooling techniques applied to gas turbine engines.