

Resolute Support Mission



Resolute Support Mission (RSM): Key Facts and Figures

DISCLAIMER

The following document is intended to provide basic information, releasable to the public, about the nature, mandate, and scope of the NATO-led Resolute Support mission (RSM). The troop numbers reported in the second page reflect the overall presence in Afghanistan of each of individual contributing nations. They are based on information provided directly from individual contributing nations and may include forces deployed in a support role for RSM. They should be taken as indicative as they change regularly, in accordance with the deployment procedures of the individual troop contributing nations.

<u>Mission:</u> The Resolute Support mission (RSM) is a new NATO-led mission to train, advise and assist the Afghan security forces and institutions. The mission was launched on 1 January 2015, immediately following the stand-down of the International Security Assistance Force (ISAF).

The legal framework for the Resolute Support mission is provided by a Status of Forces Agreement (SOFA), signed in Kabul on 30 September 2014 and ratified by the Afghan Parliament on 27 November 2014. The SOFA defines the terms and conditions under which NATO forces are deployed, as well as the activities they are authorised to carry out. The mission is also supported by the United Nations Security Council Resolution 2189, unanimously adopted on 12 December 2014.

The Resolute Support mission will provide training, advice and assistance in eight key areas: multi-year budgeting; transparency, accountability and oversight; civilian oversight of the Afghan Security Institutions; force generation; force sustainment; strategy and policy planning, resourcing and execution; intelligence; and strategic communications.

Those countries not contributing troops to the Resolute Support Mission are supporting this mission in different ways, as well as the broad effort to strengthen the sustainment of the Afghan National Defence and Security Forces (ANDSF) in the long term.

Beyond this training, advice and assistance mission, Allies and partner countries will also contribute to the financing of the Afghan National Defence and Security Forces, and will enhance the Enduring Partnership with Afghanistan, by strengthening political consultations with the country and by strengthening practical cooperation in areas of specific interest for Afghanistan.

These efforts are part of the broader engagement of the international community in Afghanistan to ensure that Afghanistan is never again a safe haven for terrorism.

Commander: <u>General John W. Nicholson (USA)</u> **NATO Senior Civilian Representative:** <u>Ambassador Ismail Aramaz (TUR)</u>

39 Contributing Nations RSM Total Strength: **13,332**

RSM Command in KABUL

RSM Headquarters

Commander: General John W. Nicholson (USA)

RSM Command in KABUL

Deputy Commander: Lieutenant General Sandy

Storrie (UK)

Train, Advise and Assist Command (TAAC) Capital:

Headquarter TAAC(C) in Kabul (TUR)

Commander: Brigadier General Ayhan Saygin

(TUR)

Train, Advise and Assist Command (TAAC) North:

Headquarter TAAC(N) in Mazar-e Sharif (DEU) Commander: Brigadier General André Bodemann

(DEU)

Train, Advise and Assist Command (TAAC) East:

Headquarter TAAC(E) in Laghman (USA)

Commander: Brigadier General Paul T. Calvert (USA)

Train, Advise and Assist Command (TAAC) South:

Headquarter TAAC(S) in Kandahar (USA)

Commander: Brigadier General Lee Henry (USA)

Train, Advise and Assist Command (TAAC) West:

Headquarter TAAC(W) in Herat (ITA)

Commander: Brigadier General Claudio Minghetti (ITA)



Resolute Support Mission



Troop Contributing Nations

	Albania	43		Germany	980	(1)	Portugal	10
	Armenia	121		Greece	4		Romania	588
₩	Australia	270		Hungary	90	(#)	Slovakia	40
	Austria	12	#	Iceland	2	0	Slovenia	7
C•	Azerbaijan	94		Italy	1,037	<u> </u>	Spain	8
	Belgium	62		Latvia	22	+	Sweden	25
The state of the s	Bosnia-Herzegovina	55		Lithuania	21	\divideontimes	the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia ¹	39
	Bulgaria	86		Luxembourg	1	C*	Turkey	532
- 8	Croatia	96	À	Mongolia	120		Ukraine	10
	Czech Republic	214	*	Montenegro	18		United Kingdom	450
+	Denmark	97		Netherlands	100		United States	6,941
	Estonia	4	** ;	New Zealand	10			
-	Finland	29	#	Norway	42			
+ +	Georgia	870		Poland	182		Total	13,332

¹ Turkey recognises the Republic of Macedonia with its constitutional name.

² See links to media backgrounder on "NATO-Afghanistan relations (December 2016)" and to media backgrounder on the ANA Trust Fund.