

20 Years • NATO in Bosnia and Herzegovina

14 DECEMBER 1995

Signature of the Dayton Peace
Agreement in Paris.

Front left: Slobodan Milošević, Alija Izetbegović, Franjo Tuđman.

Back left: Felipe Gonzalez, Bill Clinton, Jacques Chirac, Helmut Kohl, John Major and Viktor Chernomyrdin.



The Dayton Peace Agreement (formally known as the General Framework Agreement for Peace in Bosnia and Herzegovina) was signed on 14 December 1995 at the Paris Peace Conference to mark the cessation of hostilities that tore that country apart between 1992 and 1995.

Reinforced by United Nations Security Council Resolution (UNSCR) 1031, the Peace Agreement outlined a key role for the NATO in overseeing the military framework needed to establish security in the region. The resulting NATO-led Implementation Force (IFOR) was the Alliance's first major crisis response operation, providing a multinational peacekeeping force of 60,000 troops that was deployed on 20 December 1995 for a one-year mission to provide military support for the civilian aspects of the Agreement.



NATO Secretary General Javier Solana (left) and Supreme Allied Commander Europe George Joulwan visit Sarajevo on 11 January 1996 The NATO-led operation in Bosnia, Operation Joint Endeavour, was NATO's first-ever ground force operation and its first-ever deployment "out of area".

It was also the largest military operation ever undertaken by the Alliance, bringing together NATO and non-NATO countries in an unprecedented coalition for peace involving 36 states.









1 Young boys play in the ruins of Sarajevo.

2 Six days after the signing of the Dayton Peac Agreement, NATO deployed a UN-mandated Implementation Force (IFOR) in Bosnia and Herzenovina



The Dayton Peace Agreement and the IFOR mission helped usher a new era for the Alliance as new partnerships and peacekeeping became central to NATO's transition into a post-Cold War environment.







3 The NATO countries participating in IFOR were Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Turkey, the United Kinadom and the United States.

4 Non-NATO contributing countries were Albania Austria, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, Hungary, Jordan, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Morocco, Pakistan, Poland, Dennia, Polaria, Carolia, Caroli

5 French soldier from IFOR in Sarajev





20 Years • NATO in Bosnia and Herzegovina







































