

NAME: North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

DATE OF CREATION: 1949

MEMBER COUNTRIES:

Albania	Estonia	Italy	Norway	Sweden
Belgium	Finland	Latvia	Poland	Türkiye
Bulgaria	France	Lithuania	Portugal	United Kingdom
Canada	Germany	Luxembourg	Romania	United States
Croatia	Greece	Montenegro	Slovakia	
Czechia	Hungary	Netherlands	Slovenia	
Denmark	Iceland	North Macedonia	Spain	

FUNDAMENTAL ROLE:

to guarantee the freedom and security of its member countries by political and military means.

SECRETARY GENERAL: Mark Rutte

NORTH ATLANTIC COUNCIL: the top political decision-making body within NATO.

MILITARY FORCES:

NATO has very few permanent forces of its own. Once members agree, by consensus, to engage in an operation, they contribute forces on a voluntary basis.

NATO has an integrated military command structure, allowing the Alliance to implement political decisions that have military implications.

PARTNERSHIPS:

- Partnership for Peace: Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus,* Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Ireland, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Malta, Republic of Moldova, Russia,* Serbia, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan
- Mediterranean Dialogue: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Mauritania, Morocco, Tunisia
- Istanbul Cooperation Initiative: Bahrain, Kuwait, Qatar, United Arab Emirates
- Global partners: Afghanistan,* Australia, Colombia, Iraq, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mongolia, New Zealand, Pakistan
- Other international organisations: principally the United Nations, European Union, Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe.

Partner countries do not have the same decision-making authority as member countries.

^{*} The partnerships with Afghanistan, Belarus and Russia are currently suspended following North Atlantic Council decisions related to the security environment.