Updated: 17-Sep-2002 NATO IMS Exercise Announcements

IMS Exercise

17 Sep. 2002

Initial Press Release
Exercise "Cooperative Key 2002"

NATO/Partnership for Peace Exercise in France

Military personnel from ten NATO nations and twelve partner nations will join forces in Exercise COOPERATIVE KEY 02 which will take place from 22 September to 4 October in Saint-Dizier, France.

The exercise is based on a fictitious scenario in which aircraft and personnel from NATO partner nations respond to a request from the United Nations to NATO to deploy a multi-national task force in support of humanitarian operations.

CK 02 is one of the many NATO initiatives to promote dialogue, cooperation and interoperability between NATO and Partner nations in conducting peace support operations.

Exercise participants will be drawn from the following NATO member nations: Canada, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Poland, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States of America and from the following Partner nations: Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia(1) . France hosts the exercise as part of her training relations with her allies and partners.

Approximately 1600 military personnel and more than 60 aircraft are expected to participate, together with representatives of the United Nations High Commission for Refugees and several non-governmental organizations in support of CK-02's exercise scenario.

CK-02 is scheduled by Admiral Gregory G. Johnson, Commander-in-Chief, Allied Forces South Europe (CINCSOUTH) and will be conducted by Lieutenant General Ronald Keys, Commander, Allied Air Forces South (COMAIRSOUTH)

Note for the editor:

A Press Information Centre (PIC) will operate in St-Dizier from 22 September to 4 October 2002. Questions prior to the establishment of the PIC could be addressed to AFSOUTH PIO, Media Section,
Major Tim Dunne:
Telephone: +39 081 721 2437;
Fax: +39 081 230 2791;
E-mail: afspio@afsouth.nato.int

1. Turkey recognises the Republic of Macedonia with its constitutional name.

Go to Homepage Go to Index