June 1998

The NATO Pavilion

NATO's pavilion is located near the main entrance to the Expo site along with other International Organisations. Designed as a free flow pavilion, the first part of the exhibit will give visitors an overview of NATO at its inception in 1949. The major portion of the visitor experience will focus on NATO Today: an Alliance for peace and stability involving not only NATO's 16 member states but also its 28 Partners in the Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council. Special co-operative relationships have also been developed bilaterally, as illustrated by the NATO-Russia Founding Act and the NATO-Ukraine Charter.

THE NEW NATO is a community of nations, linked by an ocean and a common desire to promote cooperation in fields ranging from peacekeeing and crisis management to civil emergency planning. This message will be highlighted in a short video prepared for Expo.

NATO's History and Transformation


The North Atlantic Treaty was signed in Washington on 4 April, 1949, creating an Alliance of 12 independent nations committed to each other's defence. Four more European nations later acceded to the Treaty.

The North Atlantic Alliance embodies the transatlantic partnership between the European members of NATO and the United States and Canada designed to bring about peace and stability throughout Europe.

At the Madrid Summit in July 1997, NATO invited the Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland to begin accession negotiations and confirmed that the Alliance remained open to further accessions in the future.

Throughout its history NATO has evolved to take account of changing circumstances. During the 1990s, it has undergone a process of far-reaching adaptation, in the light of the changes which have occurred following the end of the Cold War, in order to meet new challenges.

Today, in the present positive, cooperative security environment, the Alliance has transformed its structures to undertake not only collective defence but also peacekeeping missions and other new tasks, working alongside non-NATO countries and other international organizations. Since the end of 1995, a NATO-led multinational force, involving not only all 16 Allies but also some 20 non-NATO countries, has worked under a UN mandate to fulfil the conditions of the Dayton Peace Agreement and to lay the basis for a self-sustained peace in Bosnia-Herzegovina.

NATO's current 16 member states are:

Belgium Germany Luxembourg Spain
Canada Greece The Netherlands Turkey
Denmark Iceland Norway The United Kingdom
France Italy Portugal The United States

See also:
    The Official site of the World Expo'98 in Portugal


    SACLANT/EXPO 98 Symposium: "Emerging Maritime Imperatives for the Next Millennium", 3-4 September 1998, Lisbon, Portugal.

 [ Go to Events Menu ]  [ Go to Homepage ]