From the event

6 Nov 2008

Meeting of the SEEGROUP at
Ambassadorial level 

The South East Europe Security Cooperation Steering Group (SEEGROUP), a forum promoting regional cooperation and long-term stability in the Balkans, held a meeting at ambassadorial level in NATO Headquarters on 6 November 2008. SEEGROUP is currently composed of 32 members, representing 20 NATO countries and 12 Partner nations.

The Chairman of the meeting Ambassador Kire Ilioski , in his opening address, expressed the importance of the regional cooperation and integration of the South East Europe into the Euro-Atlantic Structures.

NATO Secretary General Jaap de Hoop Scheffer, addressing the Forum, underlined that the SEEGROUP transparency and dedication on concrete projects and cooperation with the relevant regional initiatives, contribute to strengthening stability and security in the region and integration into the Euro-Atlantic structures.

The SEEGROUP Ambassadors, expressing appreciation on the successful Chairmanship for 2008, exchanged views on the topic “Before the Strasbourg-Kehl Summit: integration of the South East Europe into the Euro-Atlantic Structures”. The discussion was introduced by Ambassador of Turkey Mr. Tacan Ildem and Ambassador of Sweden Mrs. Veronika Wand-Danielsson.