Updated: 26-Jun-2002 Week of 10-16 June 2002

10 June 2002

Deepening relations
with Mediterranean Dialogue countries

The sixth annual round of political consultations with Mediterranean Dialogue countries is taking place between 10 June and 18 July. Each of the seven participating countries in NATO's Mediterranean Dialogue (Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Mauritania, Morocco, Tunisia) is meeting with the Alliance's most important decision-making body - the North Atlantic Council.

Up to now, these bilateral meetings have been held at expert level. However, following the 11 September terrorist attacks, a decision was taken to deepen relations with Mediterranean Dialogue countries. This series of meetings allow NATO Allies and each Mediterranean Partner to present their views on security in the Mediterranean region, but also to discuss practical cooperation and subjects of common interest.

Additional information: