Updated: 12-Nov-2001 Week of 5-11 November 2001

5 Nov. 2001

Lord Robertson starts tour of countries aspiring to NATO membership

NATO Secretary General, Lord Robertson, started his tour of the nine partner countries aspiring for NATO membership with a visit to Slovakia on 5 November. He met with President Rudolf Schuster, Prime Minister Mikulas Dzurinda, the Minister of Foreign Affairs Eduard Kukan, the Minister of Defence Jozef Stank and members of the Slovak Parliament. They discussed the progress made by Slovakia in meeting the membership criteria set out by the Alliance. Lord Robertson reiterated that no decisions would be taken before next year when NATO will be officially inviting countries to join the Alliance at its Summit in November 2002.

Lord Robertson's next visit will be to Slovenia. The other seven aspiring countries are: Albania, Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (1).

  1. Turkey recognises the Republic of Macedonia with its constitutional name.