On the
of signing
the MOU on
to the Baltic

12 June 1998


by the Swedish Minister of Defence H.E. Mr. Bjrn von Sydow

The Defence Ministers of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania, Denmark, Finland, Germany, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Sweden and the United Kingdom have signed today a Memorandum of Understanding on the establishment, operations, and training, common to the three Baltic States.

The project is a joint initiative of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania which sought, in 1997, Nordic support for a college to be situated in Tartu, Estonia. Since, several additional States have declared their interest in supporting the project either formally, by signing a MOU and committing themselves enduringly to its activities, or more informally, by various forms of contributions.

BALTDEFCOL will focus on national self-defence, on total defence of a Nordic type, and on interoperability, all within the framework of defence structures under democratic control and of modern leadership concepts.

The Baltic as well as the Supporting States are strongly committed to support the project, both politically and in terms of the teaching, infrastructure, equipment, and financial resources necessary for a first period of several years.

I am convinced that the establishment of BALTDEFCOL is an important step in further strengthening the defence structures and security of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania, Minister of Defence. Mr. Bjrn von Sydow.

 [ Go to
Speeches Menu ]  [ Go to
Homepage ]