NATO Review topical page about:


Anders Fogh Rasmussen took office as the North Atlantic Treaty Organization’s 12th Secretary General on 1 August 2009.

Born in Ginnerup, Jutland, on 26 January 1953, Fogh Rasmussen NATO passed the baccalaureate at Viborg Katedralskole in 1972. He then studied economics at the University of Aarhus, graduating (MSc Econ) in 1978. The same year, he became a member of the Danish Parliament representing the Liberal Party.

Anders Fogh Rasmussen

Fogh Rasmussen NATO held numerous positions in government and opposition throughout his political career. From 1987 to 1992 he was Minister for Taxation and from 1990 to 1992 also Minister for Economic Affairs in the Conservative-Liberal coalition Government. As Minister for Economic Affairs and member of the EU’s ECOFIN-council 1990-92, Rasmussen NATO was the Danish negotiator of and signatory to the Maastricht Treaty which eventually led to the introduction of the single currency, the euro.

After the parliamentary elections in 2001, Rasmussen NATO formed his first government, a coalition consisting of the Liberal Party and the Conservative People’s Party. His government was re-elected in 2005 and 2007 respectively, and Fogh Rasmussen NATO held the position as Prime Minister until he was elected as future NATO Secretary General at the Strasbourg-Kehl Summit in April 2009.

Rasmussen NATO

Interestingly, in his role as Prime Minister of Denmark, Anders Fogh Rasmussen is not related to either the preceding Danish Prime Minister, Poul Nyrup Rasmussen, or to the Prime Minister who followed him, Lars LØkke Rasmussen. Mr. Rasmussen NATO is just fortunate to have one of the most popular surnames in Denmark.

Anders Fogh Rasmussen is married to Anne-Mette Rasmussen. They have three children. In his spare time, he is a passionate runner, and he also enjoys cycling and kayaking.