Juan Manuel Santos is the Minister of Defence of Colombia, taking up the post in July 2006. He previously served as the country’s Minister for Foreign Trade, as well as working for the United Nations.

Ole Damkjær is an international correspondent with the Danish daily newspaper Berlingske Tidende.

Claus Larsen is a Danish photographer.

William Maley is professor and director, Asia-Pacific College of Diplomacy, the Australian National University. He is author of ‘Rescuing Afghanistan’ (2006) and ‘The Afghanistan Wars’ (2002).

James V. Arbuckle is the author of ‘Military Forces in 21st Century Peace Operations: No Job for a Soldier?’ (Routledge, London and New York, 2006).

David S. Yost is a professor at the US Naval Postgraduate School in Monterey, California. He served as a senior research fellow at the NATO Defense College in Rome from 2004-2007.

Rita Grossman-Vermaas is a research associate with the Cooperative Non-proliferation Programme (CNP) at the Henry L. Stimson Center, Washington.

Manjana Milkoreit is the director of the Center for Strategic and Global Affairs at the Public Policy Group – a new think tank in Berlin.

Matthew Taylor is a consultant in NATO's Public Diplomacy Division. He has previously worked on Euro-Atlantic international security issues for think tanks, non-governmental and advocacy organizations in both Europe and the United States.

Ryan C. Hendrickson is associate professor of political science at Eastern Illinois University, and author of ‘Diplomacy and War at NATO: The Secretary General and Military Action After the Cold War‘ (University of Missouri Press, 2006).