Christopher Bennett is editor of NATO Review.

Christoph Bertram holds the Steven Muller Chair for German Studies at the Bologna Center of Johns Hopkins University School of Advanced International Studies. Previously, he directed both the Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik in Berlin between 1998 and 2005 and the International Institute for Strategic Studies in London between 1974 and 1982.

Gabriele Cascone works in NATO's Political Affairs and Security Policy Division.

Mihai Carp is deputy head of the Crisis Management Policy Unit in NATO's Operations Division.

Bruno Coppieters is professor of political science at the Vrije Universiteit Brussel (Free University of Brussels). He is co-editor of Statehood and Security: Georgia after the Rose Revolution (MIT Press, 2005) and of Contextualizing Secession: Normative Studies in Comparative Perspective (Oxford University Press, 2003).

Lawrence S. Kaplan is director emeritus, Lyman L. Lemnitzer Center for NATO and European Union Studies, Kent State University, and professorial lecturer in history, Georgetown University. He is author of several books on NATO, including most recently NATO Divided, NATO United: The Evolution of an Alliance (Praeger, 2004).

Maurits Jochems is deputy assistant secretary general in NATO's Operations Division, responsible for the Alliance's work in the field of civil-emergency planning, among other areas.

Alexia Mikhos works in NATO's Operations Division.

Joaquin Molina works in NATO's Operations Division.

James Pardew is deputy assistant secretary general and director of operations in NATO's Operations Division.

Louis Sell is an adjunct professor of history and political science at the University of Maine. A retired long-serving US diplomat, he is a former director of the International Crisis Group in Kosovo, executive director of the American University in Kosovo Foundation and author of Slobodan Milosevic and the Destruction of Yugoslavia (Duke University Press, 2002).

Kenneth Weisbrode is an associate councillor of the Atlantic Council of the United States who worked for General Andrew J. Goodpaster at the Atlantic Council between 1994 and 1998.