Go to Nato homepage
Go to Nato Review homepage
      current issue: spring 2002 previous issues  |  language
Go to Nato homepage
 Book review
 Military matters
 Next issue
Go to Nato Review homepage Contact Editor/Subscription Print friendly version

Send this article to a friend


Ronald D. Asmus is a senior fellow for European studies at the Council on Foreign Relations and author of the forthcoming book Opening NATO's Door (Columbia University Press).

Frank Boland is deputy director of force planning in NATO's Defence Planning and Operations Division.

James M. Goldgeier is director of the Institute for European, Russian and Eurasian Studies, George Washington University, and adjunct senior fellow at the Council on Foreign Relations and author of Not Whether But When: The US Decision to Enlarge NATO (Brookings, Washington, 1999).

Sebestyén L. v. Gorka is executive director of the Centre for EuroAtlantic Integration and Democracy in Budapest.

Charles Grant is director of the London-based Centre for European Reform and author of several CER publications, including Europe 2010: an optimistic vision of the future and Europe's Military Revolution, which he co-wrote with Gilles Andréani and Christoph Bertram.

Vaclav Havel is president of the Czech Republic.

Andrzej Karkoszka is head of the think tank at the Democratic Control of Armed Forces Centre in Geneva, and a former deputy defence minister of Poland.

Stanley R. Sloan is director of the Atlantic Community Initiative, visiting scholar at Middlebury College, Vermont, and author of the forthcoming book NATO, the European Union and the Atlantic Community: The Transatlantic Bargain Reconsidered (Rowman and Littlefield).

Dmitri Trenin is deputy director of the Carnegie Moscow Center.