Updated: 02-Mar-2004 NATO Press Releases


2 Mar 2004

Statement by the Secretary General

I have the pleasure to announce that all Parties to the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation have notified the Government of the United States of America of their acceptance of the Protocols to the North Atlantic Treaty on the Accession of the Republic of Bulgaria, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, Romania, the Slovak Republic and the Republic of Slovenia, signed in Brussels on 26 March 2003.

I have therefore, on behalf of the member states, communicated to the Governments of the seven countries an invitation to accede to the North Atlantic Treaty. In accordance with Article 10 of the North Atlantic Treaty, the invited states shall become Parties to that Treaty on the date of the deposit of their instruments of accession with the Government of the United States of America.

+32 (0)2 707 50 41
+32 (0)2 707 50 57
B-1110 Brussels/Bruxelles

Go to Homepage Go to Index
Back to NATO homepage