Updated: 07-Dec-2001 NATO Press Releases

7 Dec. 2001

Chairman’s Summary

of the Meeting of the Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council in Foreign Ministers Session

  1. The Foreign Ministers and Representatives of the member countries of the Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council (EAPC) met in Brussels today.
  2. The Secretary General of NATO informed the EAPC about the main results of the North Atlantic Council meeting on 6 December.
  3. This EAPC meeting marks the tenth anniversary of the Partnership and Co-operation. In December 1991, the North Atlantic Co-operation Council met for the very first time, so that members of the Alliance and its Partners could face together the challenges of the post-Cold War era. Ministers agreed that over these past ten years, EAPC member countries had constructed a genuine partnership across the former dividing lines of the Euro-Atlantic area.
  4. Ministers also agreed that the work of the Partnership was in no way complete. They reiterated the EAPC statement issued the day after the horrific attack on the United States, which condemned unconditionally those brutal acts, stated clearly that they represented an attack on the common values of the member states, and pledged to undertake all efforts to combat the scourge of terrorism. They agreed that the EAPC - a unique coalition of 46 nations from North America to the countries of Central Asia - represented a vital pillar of the international coalition against terrorism and underlined their resolve to make full use of the EAPC/PfP framework to share information, to coordinate practical activities, and to help protect their populations against terrorism. In this context, Ministers endorsed the new EAPC Action Plan for 2002-2004, which includes new cooperative approaches in the international fight against terrorism.
  5. Ministers exchanged views on developments in South-East Europe. They reaffirmed their commitment to a peaceful, stable and democratic South-East Europe and condemned unconditionally all acts of violence, whether ethnically, politically or criminally motivated.
  6. Ministers welcomed the positive developments in the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia[1] and the coordinated and successful approach of the International Community towards helping resolve the crisis. Ministers welcomed in particular the contribution to the peace process made by NATO's Operation Essential Harvest and the continuing role of Task Force Fox in support of OSCE and EU monitors, the Parliament's adoption of changes to the country's constitution, and the amnesty declared by President Trajkovski. They urged that all parties involved implement in full the reforms contained in the Framework agreement.
  7. Ministers welcomed the Kosovo-wide elections of 17 November as an important step towards a peaceful, multi-ethnic, multi-cultural and democratic Kosovo. Ministers reaffirmed their commitment towards bringing lasting peace and stability to Bosnia and Herzegovina. Ministers also welcomed ongoing regionally-led cooperation in the framework of SEEGROUP and work underway for security sector reform based on SEECAP.
  8. Ministers discussed the development and use of existing EAPC/PfP mechanisms, on the basis of reports before them. They welcomed recent stock-taking discussions on the current state of the enhanced and more operational Partnership and the decision to conduct a Comprehensive Review of Partnership next year. They agreed that this review should focus on ensuring that the Partnership was able to meet future challenges as efficiently and effectively as possible.
  9. Ministers will meet again in Reykjavik in May 2002.
  1. Turkey recognises the Republic of Macedonia with its constitutional name.

Go to Homepage Go to Index