Updated: 14-Jun-2000 NATO Press Releases

(2000) 066

13 June 2000

NATO-EAPC Research Fellowships Programme

The NATO Fellowship Programme was introduced in 1956 for citizens of NATO countries. In recent years, it has been updated to include candidates from both member countries and co-operation partners. The aim of this Programme, called since 1997 NATO Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council (NATO-EAPC) Fellowships, is to promote study and research leading to publication in areas of particular interest to the Organization, primarily Alliance security and political issues.

This year the North Atlantic Treaty Organization is pleased to announce the award of 54 fellowships to citizens of EAPC member nations.

At their Spring 1995 meeting, NATO Foreign Ministers established the Manfred Wörner Fellowship. The purpose of this distinguished Fellowship, endowed with BEF 800,000.- is to honour the memory of the former Secretary General by focusing attention on his leadership in the transformation of the Alliance, including efforts at extending NATO's relations with CEE countries and promoting the principles and image of the Transatlantic partnership. This year, the Manfred Wörner Fellowship has been awarded to Dr Alexander G. YUSHCHENKO, of the Kharkov State Polytechnic University, Ukraine. Dr Alexander Yushchenko has undertaken to work on a project titled "Intellectual Modelling of Information Management of Political Mentality Dynamics of Social Ukrainian Strata Towards NATO".

For the second year NATO has established Institutional Fellowships for the Mediterranean Dialogue countries. The Atlantic Alliance is pleased to announce that three such fellowships have been awarded, one to Israel and two to Morocco.

The membership of the Selection Committee, the names of the NATO Fellows and their study are given at annex (.PDF/22 Kb). For further information, please contact the NATO's Academic Affairs Office, Tel: ++32-2 707.50.14, Fax: ++32-2 707.54.57, E-mail: S.PHILIPPAS@HQ.NATO.INT.

Members of the Selection Committee /
Les Membres du Comité de sélection

Mr Krzysztof SZCZEPANIK Poland
Mr Pedro de SOUSA ABREU Portugal
Mr Daniel SANZ ALVAREZ Spain
Mr Alper YÜKSEL Turkey
Mr David MORLEY United Kingdom
Ms Sylvia CUGIER Delegation of Poland


Mrs Monique TUFFELLI-PIERRE Head, External Relations Chef des Relations extérieures
Mrs Anna VERSCHEURE- LANGENBERG Academic Affairs Office / Bureau des affaires universitaires

+32 (0)2 707 50 41
+32 (0)2 707 50 57
B-1110 Brussels/Bruxelles

Go to Homepage Go to Index