Updated: 2 June 1999 NATO Press Releases


1 June

NATO-EAPC Research Fellowships Programme

The NATO Fellowship Programme was introduced in 1956 for citizens of NATO countries. In recent years, it has been updated to include candidates from both member countries and co-operation partners. The aim of this Programme, called since 1997 NATO Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council (NATO-EAPC) Fellowships, is to promote study and research leading to publication in areas of particular interest to the Organization, primarily Alliance security and political issues.

This year the North Atlantic Treaty Organization is pleased to announce the award of 54 fellowships to citizens of EAPC member nations.

At their Spring 1995 meeting, NATO Foreign Ministers established the Manfred Wörner Fellowship. The purpose of this distinguished Fellowship, endowed with BEF 800,000, is to honour the memory of the former Secretary General by focusing attention on his leadership in the transformation of the Alliance, including efforts at extending NATO's relations with CEE countries and promoting the principles and image of the Transatlantic partnership. This year, the Manfred Wörner Fellowship has been awarded to Professor Leonid HAIDUKOV, of the Institute of International Relations, University of Kyiv, Ukraine. Professor Leonid Haidukov has undertaken to work on a project titled "The Security Quadrangle for the XXI Century: NATO, NATO Partners, Russia and Ukraine".

For the second year NATO has established Institutional Fellowships for the Mediterranean Dialogue countries. The Atlantic Alliance is pleased to announce that four such fellowships have been awarded, one each to Egypt, Israel, Jordan, and Morocco.

The membership of the Selection Committee, the names of the NATO Fellows and their study are given at annex. For further information, please contact NATO's Academic Affairs Officer, Dr. Spyros C. Philippas, Tel: +32-2 707.58.18, Fax: +32-2 707.47.43, E-mail: S.PHILIPPAS@HQ.NATO.INT.

+32 (0)2 707 50 41
+32 (0)2 707 50 57
B-1110 Brussels/Bruxelles

Go to Homepage Go to Index