Updated: 26-May-2006 15:57 Conferences

Joseph Luns
Press Theatre,

24 Oct. 2002

NATO Science Programme
- Grand Gathering -

Official Session and Presentation of
NATO Science Partnership Prize

Programme Agenda
13:45-13:55 Arrival of Participants    
14:00-14:10 Opening Remarks
by Mr. Jean Fournet, Assistant Secretary General for Scientific and Environmental Affairs
14:10-14:30 Address by Lord Robertson of Port Ellen, Secretary General of NATO
14:30-14:35 Account of selection procedure of NATO Science Partnership Prize and reading of the Citation of the Winners by
Dr. Keith Gardner, Deputy Assistant Secretary General for Scientific and Environmental Affairs
14:35-14:45 Presentation by Lord Robertson of the
2002 NATO Science Partnership Prize
14:45-14:50 Response by the spokesman for the Prizewinners
14:50-15:20 Coffee break    
Working Session    
15:20-16:00 Opening Presentation– Jean Fournet
The NATO Science Programme : New Challenges and Opportunities
How to adapt and modernize to meet the NATO goals after Prague
16:00-18:00 Debate on the future of the Science Programme, with
Introduction by Science Committee Members and Panel Chairmen
  1. Basis of the future Science Programme: Security / Stability / Solidarity / Defence Against Terrorism
    • Dr. Vic Teplitz (United States)
    • Prof. Max Huber (Germany)
    • Dr. Maarten Nieuwenhuizen (Netherlands)
    • Prof. Fernando Carvalho Rodrigues (Scientific Affairs Division)
  2. Novel actions and priorities for cooperation: trends in basic science essential for development / topics with relevance to NATO's new challenges
    • Dr. András Siegler (Hungary)
    • Prof. Sir Brian Heap (United Kingdom)
    • Prof. Alkiviades Payatakes (Greece)
    • Dr. Fausto Pedrazzini (Scientific Affairs Division)
  3. The Science Programme and “Leaders of Tomorrow”: brain drain/brain gain, training and fellowships, science in a market-oriented economy (commercialisation)
    • Dr. Howard Alper (Canada)
    • Prof. Thordur Jonsson (Iceland)
    • Prof. Lajos Nyiri (Hungary)
    • Dr. Alain Jubier and Dr. Chris De Wispelaere (Scientific Affairs Division)
  4. Visibility and Communication
    • Prof. Dinçer Ülkü (Turkey)
    • Prof. Charles Buys (Netherlands)
    • Dr. Robert Moor (United Kingdom)
    • Dr. Walter Kaffenberger (Scientific Affairs Division)
    • Mr. Yves Brodeur (Office of Information and Press)
18:00-18:30 Conclusions of the Grand Gathering with special emphasis on Panel Management and Organisation – Keith Gardner    
19:00 Buses depart for Palais d’Egmont    
19:30 “Walking Dinner” for Grand Gathering participants at Palais d'Egmont    
22:00 Buses depart for hotels and for NATO