Updated: 11-Jan-2007 Who is who at NATO?

NATO Permanent Representative of Luxembourg

H E Mr Joseph Weyland

2003 - 2005

Place and Date of Birth: Luxembourg, 24 April 1943
Marital Status : Married; 2 sons
Qualifications : Doctor of Law, Graduate of the Institut d'Etudes politiques in Paris (public finances section)


1967 : Attaché at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) in Luxembourg; Teacher at Luxembourg University
1969 - 1972 : First Secretary at the Luxembourg Embassy in Bonn
1972 - 1976 : Deputy Director of Protocol and Legal Matters at the MFA in Luxembourg
1976 - 1979 : Deputy Permanent Representative of Luxembourg to the European Economic Communities (EEC) in Brussels
1979 - 1983 :

Director of Economic Relations and Cooperation at the MFA in Luxembourg

Member of the Board of :
  • Luxair (national Luxembourg carrier)
  • SNCI (state owned Luxembourg bank)
  • CFL (national railway company)
  • 1983 - 1984 : Ambassador, Permanent Representative for Luxembourg to the UN in New York
    1984 - 1991 :

    Ambassador, Permanent Representative for Luxembourg of the EEC in Brussels

    1985 : Representative of Luxembourg, Inter- Governmental Conference leading to the Single European Act
    1991 : Chairman, Committee on Political Union at the Inter-Governmental Conference leading to the Maastricht Treaty
    1991 - 1992 : Secretary-General at the MFA in Luxembourg Member of the Board of Luxair
    1993 - present day : Ambassador for Luxembourg to the Court of St. James's, to Ireland and to the Republic of Iceland, resident in London
    March 1995 : Personal representative of the Minister of Foreign Affairs in the study group/think tank preparing the IGC 1996
    Languages : Fluent French, English and German
    Good knowledge of Italian, Spanish and Dutch
    Publication : "Le Traité de Maastricht : genèse, analyse, commentaires" (with J. Cloos, G. Reinesch & D. Vignes). Brussels, Bruylant 1993
    Leisure Pursuits : Modern art, sculpture, music, travel
    Holder of numerous decorations including Grand Officer of the Order of Merit and Commander of the Order of the Crown of Oak, Luxembourg; Commander of the Légion d'Honneur, France; Grand Cross of the Order of Merit, Spain; Grand Cross, Belgium, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Spain.