Canada assumes chair of Military Intelligence Committee

  • 24 Jan. 2018 -
  • |
  • Last updated: 31 Jan. 2018 14:56

Canada assumed the chair of NATO’s Military Intelligence Committee from Belgium on Wednesday 24 January 2018. A handover ceremony took place in the premises of the Joint Delegation of Canada to NATO in Brussels.

Rear-Admiral Scott Bishop (CAN NA), Incoming Chairman of the MIC; Mr. Arndt Freytag von Loringhoven, Assistant Secretary General for Intelligence and Security, Co-Chair of the MIC; Lieutenant-General Eddy Testelmans (BEL AR), 2017 Chairman of the MIC

Read-Admiral Scott Bishop, Canadian Navy, will serve as Chairman. He said: “Canada is truly honoured to chair the NATO Military Intelligence Committee together with the Joint Intelligence and Security Division (JISD), and our team is dedicated to the successful attainment of Alliance objectives. I want to thank Lieutenant-General Testelmans for his personal commitment to NATO Intelligence and the outstanding efforts that Belgium exerted in supporting NATO through 2017.”

“There is no doubt that NATO Intelligence has positively transformed following the creation of the JISD and through the leadership of General Testelmans and Assistant Secretary General Freytag von Loringhoven. As the new MIC Chair, we intend to build on the great work accomplished by Belgium, and our team at Canadian Forces Intelligence Command is prepared to build on their accomplishments and to continue the successful attainment of NATO objectives with our Co-Chair, ASG Freytag von Loringhoven, and his staff,” he concluded.