Transatlantic unity remains pillar of European security

  • 16 Dec. 2019 -
  • |
  • Last updated: 18 Dec. 2019 17:20

On Monday 16 December 2019, the Chairman of the NATO Military Committee, Air Chief Marshal Sir Stuart Peach attended the Commemorations of the 75th Anniversary of the Battle of the Bulge in Bastogne, Belgium and in Hamm, Luxembourg.

Representing the NATO Secretary General, Jens Stoltenberg, Air Chief Marshal Sir Stuart Peach attended the 75th Anniversary of the “Battle of the Bulge”, an annual commemoration that honours the American, British, Canadian, French, Luxembourgian and Belgian forces who fought Nazi Germany in the Belgian Ardennes, from December 16, 1944 until January 25, 1945.

Being here today is a moment of great personal significance for me as my father fought in this campaign alongside many nationalities, including Americans, French, Belgians and Canadians to deliver liberation. Many of these men paid the ultimate price so that we could stand here today as a free and united people. It is humbling for all of us to meet the veterans. We have a duty to make sure that we are never faced with such a conflict again. In 1944, the 12th Army Group was commanded by General Omar Bradley who was the first Chairman of the NATO Military Committee, a role I am proud to hold today as we in NATO continue to deliver collective security and defence”, underscored Air Chief Marshal Peach.

In an extraordinary show of transatlantic unity, the US and Canada fought alongside Europeans in what would become the largest and deadliest battle in World War II. “More than 500,000 American troops fought in the Battle of the Bulge strengthening the bond between the US and Europe. We have shared History. Over the last 75 years, the US has continuously demonstrated its commitment to Europe. Next year, 20,000 US-based troops will cross the Atlantic for exercise Defender 2020, the biggest deployment of US soldiers to Europe in 25 years, invigorating our great Alliance”, concluded the Chairman.

The annual commemoration took place from 13 to 16 December in the Belgian city of Bastogne and on 16 December in Luxembourg.