NATO - North Atlantic Treaty Organization

NATO's Mediterranean Dialogue


NATO Mediterranean Dialogue

NATO Mediterranean Dialogue

NATO’s Mediterranean Dialogue was initiated in 1994 by the North Atlantic Council. It currently involves seven non-NATO countries of the Mediterranean region: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Mauritania, Morocco and Tunisia.




Visit to NATO Headquarters of High-Level Opinion Leaders from Morocco

27 May. 2014

A group of high-level Opinion Leaders from Morocco visited the NATO Headquarters on 27 May 2014, in the context of the 20th Anniversary of the Mediterranean Dialogue.



Mauritanian Officers visit NATO HQ

26 May. 2014

On 26 May 2014, a group of officers from the Mauritanian military academy visited NATO Headquarters for a series of briefings and discussions with officials from the Alliance's International Staff and International Military Staff.



Responding to security challenges in Morocco

19 May. 2014

Cyber defence and other global security issues such as chemical, biological, radiological and nuclear (CBRN) resilience and civil emergency were the focus of a NATO Science for Peace and Security information day held in Rabat, Morocco on 19 May.


Frequently asked questions

NATO's Mediterranean Dialogue & Istanbul Cooperation Initiative - Questions & Answers

NATO's Mediterranean Dialogue & Istanbul Cooperation Initiative - Questions & Answers

What is the difference between NATO’s Mediterranean Dialogue and the Istanbul Cooperation Initiative?


History - Landmarks

Newspaper articles

The following articles, in pdf, have been graciously provided by their authors

Last updated: 03-Jun-2013 16:28

PDF Library


  • "Enhanced Mediterranean Dialogue and Istanbul Cooperation Initiative" - Video interview with Nicola de Santis, Coordinator for Mediterranean Dialogue and Istanbul Cooperation Initiative - 10 Dec. 2004