NATO - North Atlantic Treaty Organisation

30 Jul. 2009

NATO Secretary General bids farewell to Headquarters

On 30 July, NATO Secretary General Jaap de Hoop Scheffer returned to NATO Headquarters to bid farewell, his tenure ending on 31 July 2009. He met with his closest civilian and military colleagues, and many members of international and military staff were on hand to wish him a fond farewell. Before departing he laid flowers at the Memorial to the Fallen.

Jaap de Hoop Scheffer has been NATO’s Secretary General since January 2004. On 1 August 2009, he will be succeeded by Mr. Anders Fogh Rasmussen, former Prime Minister of Denmark.

Last updated: 30-Jul-2009 17:04